Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Twelfth Annual Juried Exhibit at the Edge Center Gallery in Bigfork

This will be the twelfth time the Edge Center Art Gallery in Bigfork, will invite artists to submit their work for judging by a juror. Butch Holden is the juror for this show. The juror is responsible for selecting the participating artists and judging which of the works will receive awards. The unknown in juried art shows is what the juror believes makes award winning art verses exceptional art. Some of the exhibitors in this year’s juried show are new for this gallery event or any juried art exhibit. For the visitor, a juried show presents a wider variety talents and media, than an exhibition by a single artist. There will be twelve artists’ work on display in this Twelfth Annual Juried Exhibit which is on display from June 30th to July 30th.  The opening day reception is on July 1st from 5 to 7PM. There is also a special “People’s Choice Award” selected by viewers. That award will be part of the reception and can be voted on June 30th and up until 6PM July 1st. There is no charge for the gallery and reception. Edge Center Gallery is next to the Bigfork School and is open from 10:00 to 4:00 on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays.

As juror this year, Butch Holden is responsible for choosing the recipients of the Awards this year. Mr. Holden received his BA degree in art from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN and his M.F.A. degree in ceramics from Indiana University, Bloomington IN.  He has taught drawing and ceramics at Mount Senario College in Ladysmith, WI and has recently retired as a Professor at Bemidji State University, Bemidji, MN, where he taught since 1983.  He has exhibited in local, regional and national competitions, and also has had many solo exhibitions.  In addition to having juried many shows, he has served on numerous art grant panels.

Those artists exhibiting are painters Nikki Besser, Harold Dzuik, Sara Fredrickson, Ralph Hanggi, Jr., Pegg O’Laughlin Julson, Tanya MacRostie, Gene Madsen, Chholing Taha and Christine Tierney. John McCoy’s prints and Joy Anderson’s drawings were also chosen for the show.  Among the accepted artists are photographers Audrey Johnson, Tim Lamey, and David Swanson. Denise Martin’s felted figure, Susan Gilbert’s aluminum sculptures, James Lutgen’s carved bird, and Cathryn Peters’ basket are the three-dimensional works that are part of the exhibit.

A special thanks to the sponsors of the awards.  This year they are: Best of Show Award by Kocian’s Family Market and two Awards of Excellence sponsored by Arvig Communications and First State Bank of Bigfork.  For the audience, the People’s Choice Award, sponsored by Bigfork Valley Hospital, is always a special. It gives visitors a chance to see how their opinions compare to the juror.

The Gallery invites you to come and see this Twelfth Juried show during the exhibit's opening day reception and pick your favorite while enjoying a snack and seeing a variety of exceptional art, or during its normal open hours from 10:00 to 4:00 on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays from from June 30th to July 30th. There is no charge to visit the gallery or attend the opening reception. For more information go to  The Edge Center gallery is located next to the Bigfork School.

No comments:

Post a Comment